Koen speaks…

Sharing my experiences of self-learning Korean language!

The biggest mistake I made while learning Korean! What was yours? — November 4, 2015

The biggest mistake I made while learning Korean! What was yours?

Are you thinking of learning Korean or any other language that has its own unique script or alphabet? A language which is not based on the roman alphabets (like English)? If yes, then let me tell you about one of the biggest mistakes you are highly prone to make; a mistake that will tremendously slow your learning progress. Take my word for it, as I was stupid enough to make that mistake. So I want to warn all lexiophiles out there, not to repeat the same. (I am still suffering from the adverse effects of having done than).

Yes, the mistake was “learning romanization instead of learning Hangul, the Korean alphabet” (the simplest and the most brilliant alphabet system ever! Don’t you guys agree?). For those who are new to the term “romanization”, it is basically a system in linguistic, of converting the writing of a different writing system into the Roman or Latin system (the system on which English alphabets are based). So I learnt reading Korean through the romanized versions of the scripts (especially song lyrics), which happened to be a very bad decision on my part.

Now, you may ask: “Isn’t romanization supposed to be a useful guide for reading a language that has a different script? Isn’t it supposed to help you learn correct pronunciations?”. The answer would be “Yes” and “Yes”! But it seems to do more bad than good for language learners. Skeptical??? Here’s my explanation.
Continue reading

Seoul Wanderlust Stories

My Yonsei University Exchange Adventure

DAILYBAP

Living a life surrounded by Korean.

meloncreme

Learning Korean through Self Study

Zen's Sweet Escape

Explore. Dream. Discover

Free Trial VPN Account Everyday-USA VPN and Korean VPN

Free Trial USA VPN,Japan VPN,Singapore VPN,HK VPN and Korea VPN

Casterra Ya

Learning Korean On Ice

Travel with Karla

the teacher who loves to travel