Ok! I Ever since I started pursuing my Korean language study more seriously, I had a long awaited wish of being able to write a blog in Korean, no English, but proper, full 한국어.  I had been shilly shallying about it for quite a while now, as my writing skill is pretty bad and that’s the reason I wanted to start a blog in the first place i.e. TO PRACTISE WRITING. But the main problem was my lack of knowledge of the internet & computer related terminologies or vocabulary in Korean. And of course, my Achilles heel: my awful reading skills!  That will be the death of me! I All Korean blog hosting platforms, including NAVER, the one that I chose, are in Korean. (To know what is NAVER, read here). So navigation is a big problem. In fact, It is a catch 22 situation for me,  as I couldn’t start a blog because I couldn’t navigate the site properly, and I couldn’t navigate properly, as I didn’t start a blog sooner and didn’t get used to all the terminologies.

But last night, I thought, “What the hell!  한번 해보지 뭐! Let’s just get it over and done with. After all, I’ll have to start it someday. Better early than late! So I started a blog in NAVER called 코인의 코너” – “Koen’s Korner/Corner” (He he! 코코 or KK, which also happens to be one of my nicknames given to me by my dearest friend Kim ♥ ♥ ♥).  Please have a look at my blog here.

I also installed the NAVER BLOG app in my mobile phone and got it up and running.

naver blog merged

It was pretty easy since I already had a NAVER account. All thanks to my darling friend 김나혜 ♥ ♥ ♥  who made one for me. I don’t know why but I couldn’t make one from Nepal, no matter how many times I tried! Simply outrageous!

Anyway, I wrote my first post- 첫글, just an introductory kind of post. As I expected, I didn’t know most of the terms there, but I could guess them quite easily as apparently, all blog platforms seem to have the same sets of features. The NAVER Blog editor was more elaborate, which was really fun.

NAVER also has many free themes and fonts. So I tried a few. You can even customize your theme in many different ways. So I also tried them out along with a few widgets. I searched for other blogs on several topics of my interest (mostly language) and added them to my “Neighbourhood” (이웃, 이웃추가) as it is apparently called.

Overall, there are a whole lot more options for customizing the appearance of the blog as well as many other features for doing things that I am still exploring as of now. So, it will take at least a couple of weeks or months for me to get them figured out.

Anyhow, I plan to write quite a few posts there in Korean, about my Korean learning; maybe I’ll translate a few of my posts here in Korean as well, or just random ramblings. I’m sure anything will help improve my writing skill, don’t you agree?

So, why don’t you start a blog in Korean too? Or if you are already have one, let me know. 서로 응원해요!


Just a quick look at 코인의 코너 – Koen’s Korner blog:

blog cover 1

My first blog post in Korean:

first blog

And the NAVER Blog Editor:

naver blog editor


Some Useful Links

CHEERS TO ALL LANGUAGE LEARNERS! 화이팅!

